There Is No Time To Lose After A DUI Arrest
A conviction for driving under the influence (DUI) will have an immediate effect on your life. You can lose your driver’s license and be subjected to fines, community service, and/or jail time. However, if you fight the DUI charge, you may be able to avoid these penalties. The experienced DUI defense lawyers at Ward & Spires, LLC, know how to contest drunk driving charges. As a former prosecutor, Clay Ward understands how the state conducts DUI cases. With this knowledge, we can construct a strong defense.
Please call our office at 706-250-7797 to schedule a free consultation with an Augusta DUI defense attorney.
Consequences Of A DUI Conviction
During a DUI arrest, your driver’s license will be taken away and you will get a driving permit for 10 days. You will receive a 10-day letter notifying you of the time limit for requesting a hearing to appeal your license suspension. Typically, the suspension will last for six months, if you do not have prior DUI convictions. If you refuse to take the breath test, you may face tougher penalties. You must request a suspension hearing or you will not be able to get a work permit (hardship license). Your license will be suspended for one year.
To get your license back after a DUI conviction or license suspension, you must attend DUI classes and pay a reinstatement fee to the Georgia Department of Driver Services. The other penalties you face for a first DUI conviction can include a minimum of 10 days in jail, fines and fees, DUI classes, 40 hours of community service and 12 months of probation. The penalties increase for additional DUI convictions. If you are convicted of DUI, your auto insurance carrier may increase your premiums or terminate your coverage. Insurance for drivers with DUI convictions is extremely expensive.
We can watch the police video of your DUI stop and examine police procedure as well as your actions. This can help us determine whether the traffic stop was appropriate if field sobriety tests were handled correctly and if the officer had enough observations to arrest you.
For a first DUI conviction, we can argue that any jail time served be considered instead of an additional jail sentence. If you are convicted, we will attempt to mitigate the penalties. To arrange a consultation with a Georgia drunk driving defense attorney, please call 706-250-7797 or contact us online.
The firm accepts credit cards for DUI defense.